Who we are

We all have a role to play to ensure wellbeing for children, young people, families and whānau. Together we will find solutions and do whatever it takes to achieve the Action Plan’s objectives. 

Children's agencies

There are 6 children’s agencies with collective responsibility for the Action Plan:   

Oranga Tamariki has an additional legislated responsibility for oversight of the Action Plan.  

Contributing agencies

There are many other current and new agencies that are essential to securing the outcomes children, young people, their families and whānau need including:

  • Department of Corrections – Ara Poutama Aotearoa 
  • Te Puni Kōkiri
  • Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet – Te Tari o te Pririmia me te Komiti Matua 
  • Ministry of Housing and Urban Development – Te Tūāpapa Kura Kāinga
  • Māori Health Authority – Te Aka Whai Ora 
  • Ministry of Disabled People – Whaikaha
  • Education Review Office – Te Tari Arotake Mātauranga 
  • Health New Zealand​ – Te Whatu Ora 
  • Social Wellbeing Agency – Toi Hau Tāngata
  • Homes and Communities – Kāinga Ora
  • Tertiary Education Commission – Te Amorangi Mātauranga Matua. 


While the Action Plan is a collective commitment from children’s agencies, it is important that communities are empowered and enabled to contribute to this work. To do this, we will be working with: 

  • iwi and Māori organisations 
  • community groups 
  • NGOs and social service providers.

Regional mahi

Regions and Regional Public Service Leadership Groups will be responsible for doing everything they can to enable this work at a regional level.  


Published: April 18, 2023